Exploring Cambodia

As much as I like being independent when my husband is not around I am actually quite pleased when he comes back. I suppose that’s a good thing. The downside to me finding out that he is either leaving or coming back soon is that I get kind of emotional for about a week. This is annoying for me but worse for the people around me. This is because I say the same things over again like ‘I miss Richard’, ‘When’s Richard coming back?’, ‘Is Richard back yet?’ in a piny voice.

Apparently, when I am traveling this behaviour manifests itself as a form of indecision. For example: I could go and do that but I want to go with Richard. I don’t want to pay for that twice because Richard will want to see it. Meh, that would be fun, but it would be funner with Richard.

For this reason I have not done much exploring lately. I did do some:

I went to the national museum. I also wanted to go to the Royal palace nearby but it was closed. The palace takes a huge lunch break and I hear if you go in the evening it is quite busy. The museum was kind of cool. The building is beautiful and it has lovely gardens. They don’t actually let you take pictures inside so that what you will be seeing here.

My two favourite things indoors were the stone tablets (any stone tablet looks impressive really) and the animal shaped pots. In particular the one shaped like a bunny (it was the cutest). The main things you will notice in the place are the stone statues, head statues, Buddha statues and the statues of kings.

I also went to Wat Phnom. This is part of Phnom Penh’s origin/becoming the capital story.

This is the legendary story of the founding of Phnom Penh. (Courtesy of Wikipedia)
Lady Penh was a wealthy lady who lived on the outskirts of a village located in present day Phnom Penh. During the flood of the Mekong River, a hollow tree floated up to her lawn, and in the tree were four bronze statues of the Buddha. She saw this as a sign that the Buddha wanted a new home, so she built a temple for the Buddha. This temple is now believed to be the one in the capital city of Phnom Penh.

‘Phnom’ means hill, ‘Penh’ refers to Lady Penh and‘Wat’ means temple.

I was feeling a bit…un-templey so I did not actually go outside; I just had a look at the architecture and the vendors. There were people selling incense, lotus flowers and even little birds like swallows which you could release for just $1. This did not appeal somehow, I don’t know enough about how they catch them/how they will handle the outside.

There was also a large tree nearby which was filled with fruit bats. I heard their chattering first but there were so many that I did not spot them right away, thinking that they were leaves or fruit. I had also been hoping to go to ‘Art Street’ which is basically in front of the museum but on my way back there it stated to rain. My motorbike taxi (one of those turned up before a tuk-tuk so I just got on that) had to stop because of the rain and I got to stand under a building for nearly an hour with a bunch of people. Then i got tired and damp and went home. the end.

